UA-216551147-1
top of page

How to get your marriage license?

Performer License: Larson, Michaela   2013-02829

How to get your marriage license?

Performer License: Larson, Michaela 2013-02829

Information provided here can be changed without notice. Go to State website for updated information.

Please complete the online application (https://emrs.ehawaii.gov) prior to contacting an agent to set an appointment.

Couples must appear together, in person, before a licensed agent no more than 30 days prior to the ceremony date.

The agent will review your application, verify photo IDs and any necessary documentation before issuing the license. 

MARRIAGE AND CIVIL UNION LICENSES

For any person to lawfully marry in the State of Hawaii, a license for that purpose must be obtained from an authorized agent (Section 572-1.7, Hawaii Revised Statutes). Once the license has been issued, there is no waiting period before the marriage can take place.

A marriage license and marriage certificate are different documents. The marriage license permits a marriage to take place. The marriage certificate indicates that a legal marriage has been performed.

 

HOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE OR CIVIL UNION LICENSE

  1. 1. Complete the online application  click here: at https://emrs.ehawaii.gov and pay the required fee.

  2. Please be sure to write down or print your Authorization Code/Locator Identification (ID).

  3. 2. Meet with an agent no more/sooner than 30 days prior to your ceremony date. During the meeting the agent will review your application, verify photo IDs and any necessary documentation, and issue the license.

  4. Applicants must appear together in person before an agent prior to the ceremony to pick up their license. Proxies are not allowed.

  5. Both applicants must present a valid government issued photo ID (Passport, Driver License, State ID, etc.).

  6. 3. Have your official ceremony within 30 days of picking up your license.

  7. There is no waiting period before the ceremony can take place.

  8. The license is only valid within the State of Hawaii.

  9. If the ceremony is not performed within the 30-day period, the license is null and void.

 

COSTS/FEES

The cost to obtain a marriage or civil union license is $65.00 ($60 application fee + $5 portal fee).  All fees are non-refundable.

 

ELIGIBILITY

  • There are no state residence or U.S. citizenship requirements.

  • Blood tests are not required.

  • The legal age to enter into a legal marriage or civil union is 18 years old..

  • Proof of age is required.  A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 years of age or under.  Parental or Guardian consent is required with governmental issued photo identification and documentation of relationship.  For more information regarding applicants under the age of 18, please contact us  click here at: doh.marriage@doh.hawaii.gov

  • If previously married, proof of original divorce decree or death certificate needs to be presented to the marriage agent by the applicant if the divorce or death occurred less than 30 days prior to picking up the license.

  • Cousins may marry. However, the blood relationship between the prospective applicants cannot be closer than first cousins.

For more information about agents on the neighbor islands, please call the respective district health offices:

Hawaii Island (Big Island): (808) 974-6008
Kauai: (808) 241-3498
Maui: (808) 984-8210
Molokai: (808) 553-7870

Private agents are also located within the community.  

Click Here for a Listing of Agents December 2023 who have agreed to have their contact information posted.

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED

  • Valid government issued photo ID (Passport, Driver License, State ID, etc.).

  • Certified divorce decree (if applicable)

    • Required if the divorce was finalized less than 30 days prior to picking up the license.

    • If divorce decree is not written in English, you must also present a certified translation of the document.

  • Certified death certificate (if applicable)

    • Required if the death occurred/was/happened less than 30 days prior to picking up the license.

    • If the death certificate is not written in English, you must also present a certified translation of the document.

  • Any applicant under the age of 19 must present a certified copy of their birth certificate.

  • Certified copy of a Legal Name Change (if applicable)

  • Additional documentation may be required depending on the circumstances and at the discretion of each agent.



Useful Links

http://hawaii.gov/health/vitalrecords/vital-records/marriage/index.html​http://health.hawaii.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-licenses/
http://health.hawaii.gov/big-island/home/vital-statistics/marriage-civil-union-license/ 

Sample of the Marriage License
https://health.hawaii.gov/vitalrecords/files/2013/05/marriagelicense.pdf

 


Marriage Agent List 

HAWAII ISLAND LICENSING AGENTS

Please complete the online application (https://emrs.ehawaii.gov) prior to contacting an agent to set an appointment. Couples must appear together, in person, before a licensed agent no more than 30 days prior to the ceremony date. The agent will review your application, verify photo IDs and any necessary documentation before issuing the license. 

I recommend you go to the Department of Health to confirm information.

WAIMEA

District Health Office - Waimea (By Appointment Only) Tiffany Joaquin (808) 887-8114 

HILO

District Health Office – Hilo (By Appointment Only)

Letisha Kuwahara

(808) 974-6004

Governor’s Liaison Office – Hilo (By Appointment Only)

Dennis Onishi

(808) 974-6262

Private Agent (By Appointment Only)

Rose Delfin 

(808) 640-6179

NORTH KONA

Private Agent (By Appointment Only)

Monica Balanay

(808) 325-8072

SOUTH KONA

Governor’s Liaison Office – Captain Cook (By Appointment Only)

Susan Kim & Pamela Sanchis

(808) 323-4542

Private Agent (By Appointment Only) Vicki Roach

(808) 765-8462 Text message preferred Email: vickiroachmla@gmail.com  

WAIMEA

District Health Office - Waimea (By Appointment Only)

Tiffany Joaquin

(808) 887-8114

Linked Performer License: Larson, Michaela 2013-02829

Please watch this instructional video for more information. 

https://youtu.be/vGDUMV6pQyM

Go to the online application by clicking here:

https://emrs.ehawaii.gov/emrs/public/home.html

Marriage License Information


For any person to lawfully marry in the State of Hawaii, a license for that purpose must be obtained from an authorized agent. Once the license has been issued, there is no waiting period before the marriage can take place. No blood tests are needed, and no witnesses are required.

A marriage license and marriage certificate are different documents. The marriage license permits a marriage to take place. The marriage certificate indicates that a legal marriage has been performed.​

Who is eligible to apply for a Wedding License in Hawaii?

  • In applying for a marriage license, both the prospective groom and bride must appear in person before a marriage license agent.

  • A marriage license is issued immediately after the application is accepted by a marriage license agent, and it is valid statewide. A marriage license expires 30 days from and including the date of issuance.

  • There are no state residence or U.S. citizenship requirements.

  • Blood tests or witnesses are not required.
    The legal age to marry is 18 years for both males and females.

  • Males or females of 16 or 17 years of age who wish to marry require the written consent of both parents, legal guardian, or the family court. The parents or legal guardian do not have to be residents of the state. Consent forms may be obtained from a marriage license agent.

  • Proof of age is required. A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 years of age or under. A valid I.D. or driver's license may be presented for anyone 19 years of age or over.

  • Cousins may marry. However, the blood relationship between the prospective bride and groom cannot be closer than first cousins.

  • If previously married, proof of original divorce decree or death certificate needs to be presented to the marriage agent by the applicant if the divorce or death was final within 30 days of applying for a marriage license. NO FAX COPY WILL BE ACCEPTED.

  • The fee for a wedding license is payable online by credit card upon completion of the application.

bottom of page